cacaobug

for the love of chocolate

Triple Chocolate M&M’s July 23, 2008

Filed under: chocolate candy — cacaobug @ 10:41 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Triple Chocolate M&M's

Have you tried the new M&M’s Premiums? They’re Mars’ latest foray into the semi-upscale chocolate segment. Sold in elongated vertical boxes, premium M&M’s come in five varieties: Chocolate Almond, Mocha, Triple Chocolate, Raspberry Almond, and Mint Chocolate.

I was pleasantly surprised to find the Triple Chocolate variety at Walgreens yesterday. Opening the plastic pouch that’s inside the box, I sampled one of the plump, multicolored chocolates. The milk chocolate center was coated with a layer of white chocolate, which in turn was ensconced in a thin layer of dark chocolate (see cross section). Surprisingly, the exterior wasn’t crunchy like a normal M&M. Not sure why Mars decided against the traditional M&M shell—doesn’t quite seem like an M&M without it.

Nevertheless, these M&M’s are tasty! The chocolate is smoother and less sugary than that of regular M&M’s, and the mixture of milk, white, and dark chocolate is quite nice, although the dark doesn’t come through quite as strongly as I would like. The only drawback? The price. At Walgreens, a 6oz package will set you back $4.99. I highly recommend giving them a try, but you’ll have to decide whether they’re worth adding to your chocolate diet.

 

3 Responses to “Triple Chocolate M&M’s”

  1. […] @ 10:46 am Tags: coupon, M&M’s, M&M’s Premiums, Walgreens Last week I wrote about the new M&M’s Premiums.  If you’re looking for an excuse to give them a try, I just learned that Walgreens has a $2 […]

  2. jimthomasson Says:

    I tried the premiums and they are good but I think I still prefer the regular milk chocolate M&M’s. I keep them in the refrigerator. A handful of those and a glass of milk …Just can’t be beat.

  3. greenbatter Says:

    I have seen those Premiums at Ralph’s. I have wanted to try them but I have imagined them differently. I thought they were the same crunchy shell and some were white chocolate, some dark chocolate, and some milk chocolate. But it’s one whole M&M with 3 flavors and there were many of them with the same pattern of taste.


Leave a Reply

