cacaobug

for the love of chocolate

Mint Crisp M&M’s April 14, 2008

Filed under: chocolate candy — cacaobug @ 10:05 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Mint Crisp M&M's

This must be my lucky day! Right on the heels of my cherry M&M’s find, I discover mint crisp M&M’s in the frozen foods section of my local grocery store. Why they chose that particular aisle to feature these limited edition M&M’s is beyond me, but I’m glad they did, because I wasn’t actually shopping for candy today. (On second thought, maybe the frozen foods section isn’t so crazy after all?)

This time I simply couldn’t wait until after dinner to try my bounty. Upon arriving home, I eagerly tore into the medium-sized bag. Of course, I read Sera’s review earlier today so I had an idea of what to expect, but my experience with the cherry M&M’s left me feeling a tad trepidatious. Fortunately, my worries turned out to be unfounded, as the mint crisp M&M’s are a solid contender in the novelty M&M’s candy category.

At first the mint flavor seems a bit strong, but after several M&M’s it mellows out. In fact, the mint adds an interesting dimension to the semisweet M&M chocolate. Reading the ingredients, I note that, unlike the cherry M&M’s, the flavoring in these M&M’s is natural, not artificial. Happily, the crisped rice adds the perfect amount of crunch (see cross section here) to the already crunchy M&M shells.

My only complaint is with the irregular sizes. The mint crisp M&M’s range from tiny (as in quite a bit smaller than normal M&M’s) to large (as in peanut butter M&M size). The large ones have the perfect ratio of crisped rice to chocolate, while the small ones, in contrast, seem ill proportioned and lacking in substance.

Overall, the mint crisp M&M’s are a winner! If you like M&M’s and enjoy the taste of mint and chocolate, I think you’re going to love these.

 

One Response to “Mint Crisp M&M’s”

  1. greenbatter Says:

    Well, I’ve not heard of cherry nor mint crisp M&M’s (though they sound delicious.) For the Incredible Hulk movie in 2003, there was a green Hershey’s Chocolate Syrup. It was fantastic.


Leave a comment