cacaobug

for the love of chocolate

Trader Joe’s 100 Calorie Chocolate Bars January 21, 2008

Filed under: chocolate bars — cacaobug @ 12:16 pm
Tags: , ,

TJ's 100 Calorie Milk Chocolate BarsI discovered this new treasure at Trader Joe’s yesterday: 100 calorie chocolate bars. They come in two varieties, milk chocolate and dark chocolate. I was in the mood for milk chocolate, so I went with those. Now I’m kicking myself for not getting one of each!

In the box are five individually wrapped chocolate bars, each weighing .63 ounces. A box sells for $1.99, so that’s roughly $.63 per ounce. This compares favorably with Hershey’s 100 calorie chocolate bars, which go for around $.79 per ounce.

The chocolate bars themselves are thin and long. This seemed a bit odd until I realized that the shape actually enhances the experience, as it allows the chocolate to melt more easily in your mouth. Add to that the smooth texture and rich chocolate taste and you have a delightful little treat with only 100 calories!

 

3 Responses to “Trader Joe’s 100 Calorie Chocolate Bars”

  1. [...] at 280 calories, they’re no low-calorie treat, either. I much preferred Trader Joe’s 100 Calorie Chocolate Bars, which have apparently been discontinued already. Granted, those were quite a bit more expensive [...]

  2. Cathy Says:

    These 100 calorie chocolate bars are just the thing for that mid-afternoon “sweet tooth” or a great dessert for such a small amount of calories. I LOVE THEM. I pass them out to my friends. Now we all buy them.

  3. [...] I do each chocolate daily – Trader Joe’s has a 100 cal individually wrapped dark chocolate bar… only thing that keeps me from [...]


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.