cacaobug

for the love of chocolate

Reese Hazelnut Crème January 8, 2008

Filed under: chocolate candy — cacaobug @ 12:00 pm
Tags: , , ,

Reese Hazelnut CrèmeI had been lusting after the Reese Hazelnut Crème ever since I saw this photo on flickr. As far as I know it’s not available in the U.S., so a friend kindly sent me some from Canada. The packaging is gorgeous; you can just imagine your teeth sinking into the soft chocolate and creamy hazelnut.

Sadly, this is not the case. Unlike Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, these are hard, all the way from the solid chocolate exterior to the firm hazelnut center. They also seem smaller than Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups. Curiously, they’re missing the signature wax paper that normally cradles each cup. And although hazelnuts are listed as an ingredient (after “sugar, modified milk ingredients, hydrogenated palm kernel oil, hydrogenated coconut oil”), there isn’t much of a hazelnut taste.

Overall, a very poor showing by Hershey’s. Happily, my friend had also sent some Coffee Crisp by Nestlé, which quickly eased my disappointment with the Reese’s!

 

4 Responses to “Reese Hazelnut Crème”

  1. cybele Says:

    Aw, man! I was so hoping that those would be fantastic. Thanks for the great review.

  2. Z Says:

    Bummer! At least you have satisfied the curiosity. Please review the coffee crisps as well. They are kind of a cult item for Canadian expats living in US; but from the package they kind of look boring. Or perhaps this is what I tell myself to keep my diet on track.

  3. Sera Says:

    Such a disappointment! Thanks for takin’ one for the team. :)

  4. Di Says:

    They are awesome tasting !!!! But I can’t find them in Canada anywhere only when I went to Mexico….Does anyone know where I can buy them ???

    Thanks


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.